Rugby League Challenge Cup

Challenge Cup Rugby League

The Challenge Cup is seen by many as the leading cup competition in the world of rugby league. For this reason, it is hotly contested each year, which has made Challenge Cup betting very popular.

Follow the links to 188BET for Challenge Cup betting as well as rugby league betting on all the major leagues and other cups. Or, read on to learn more about the Challenge Cup, including past winners and famous finals.

The Most Prestigious Cup Competition

The Rugby League Challenge Cup is the most prestigious and well-known rugby league cup competition in Europe and possibly the world.

It was first played for in 1896 and, similarly to the FA Cup, those playing for it have always ranged from professional sportsmen to complete amateurs, giving the competition an eccentric edge, which has always allowed it to remain popular.

The climax is the final at Wembley, although rugby league's showpiece has even been played at such rugby union strongholds as Twickenham, Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and Edinburgh's Murrayfield while Wembley was being rebuilt between 2000 and 2006.

Wembley was first used for the Cup final in 1929, when Wigan beat Dewsbury 13-2 and, apart from a break for the Second World War, staged the highlight of the British rugby league calendar every year until 2000.

The Most Successful Side in the Cup

Wigan Warriors are the most successful club in the competition, having won the famous trophy 17 times and been runners-up on another 11 occasions.

No other side really come close to matching that record, with second-placed St Helens on 12 wins, Leeds Rhinos on 11 and Widnes Vikings a distant fourth on seven.
Players who star during the final are considered contenders for the Lance Todd Trophy, the much-sought after award for the man of the match.

Named after a New Zealand player killed shortly after World War Two, the Trophy is selected by journalists covering the final.

St Helens star Sean Long made history in 2006 when he became the first player to win the award three times, some achievement considering the long and glorious history of the event.

Official Partners

Official Partners - Aston Villa, Bolton Wanderers, Wigan Athletic, Chelsea, Liverpool, Everton, Sheffield United